From Bed to Bench!

Well I can finally check off of my things to make list, a head and footboard turned into a bench! Yay 🙂   I know, I know you see these all over DIY blogs but I have been wanting to make one since the first time I saw one.  Mission accomplished!   

I found the bed at Habitat for Humanity resale store for $10.00 and couldn’t pass it up.  By the way that is the place to go to buy paint or anything else you might be looking for… Always try there first. 

This is what it looked like before:IMG_0948

It was pretty easy to do….after making 3 trips to home depot for cheep lumber and brackets.  IMG_0949 IMG_0950 IMG_0951

I took my time with this and didn’t try to hurry any just get it done.  I painted with my DIY chalk paint 3 coats and then poly coated the whole thing.  I think it turned out fabulous and is a great addition to my entryway.  Perfect for sitting down to put on those boots!  

My hubby said “I thought you were going to sell it”?  How could I….. It was my first one……always have to keep the “first one”!  I just couldn’t bring myself to part with this one… after all I have been wanting one for quite some time.  It now has a home in my entry.  IMG_0954 IMG_0955 IMG_0956 IMG_0958 IMG_0961

By the way…… am I the only woman DIYer who is driving her hubby crazy with all of the creating going on?  I would love to hear your stories or is it really just me?

The little shelf has been out in my shop waiting for a redo for sometime now, I thought that it looked perfect to pair with the bench.  So I painted it the same color and hung it above.  The red that you see on the front is glass beads that I hot glued to the front to cover holes that previously had screws in. (I ran out of wood filler and was not going to make a fourth trip to Home Depot) so I just made it work. 🙂

4 thoughts on “From Bed to Bench!

  1. Ahhh!!! Love this and the perfect solution for my daughters old headboard/footboard!! Just gorgeous!! And by the way my hubby is so tired of the constant paint, hammers, sandpaper, etc lying everywhere so you are not alone!!

    • Tee heee heee lol, Our poor husbands….. I can feel the tieds changing with women and THEIR power tools. 🙂 Thanks for the kind words, I love my little bench and it was so much fun building.

I would love to hear your thoughts on this.....

