TURN! TURN! TURN!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I keep hearing that song in my head…. TURN! TURN! TURN! by the Byrds…there is a season….a time to every purpose under heaven… you know the one.

Well my life’s pages are turning again, you know what I’m talking about… when those life changing moments take place and you know that things are going to change and a new chapter will be written in your life.  Such a thing is taking place in my life…. It’s funny how you can feel the hand of God working in your life if you  just step back and really look at what is going on.  Let me explain..

A couple of weeks ago I went to work at the clinic on a Saturday.  Keep in mind…. I rarely work on Saturdays.  Anyway, my husbands best friend, since they were in little league brings his daughter in… (no hippa violation here) while I was assessing her and taking her vitals I ask him how everything is going…yadda yadda yadda…while having the yadda conversation he said that he is looking to hire someone to work with him, when I asked doing what…he said pretty much what you just did with my daughter.  I then said, well…. I’m happy where I’m at and I love my hours etc….( I was seriously trying to talk him out of being interested in me for the job! )

As I was leaving the room to get her all checked in for the Doc I said “just out of  curiosity…how much money are we talking about”?  When he came back with the answer….. I couldn’t believe it……I said you do realize that I am not a RN right?  He said yes… I know.  I am not going to put out a dollar figure here but lets just say that if I stayed where I am at I wouldn’t make that kind of money in 30 years!

I said.. UMMMMM we have got to talk and left the room.  Later that day I texed him and got the ball rolling.  A little over a week later I interviewed for the job and GOT it!

The thing is, it is going to allow us to breathe a bit better, it is going to take some of the load off of my husbands shoulders, something that I had been praying for for quite a while.  That is why I have been working on turning my hobby into a potential extra money-maker.  The problem with my furniture upcycling is that I have a pretty serious case of carpal tunnel and the more that I work in my shop, the less I’m able to use my right hand.  It has progressed to the point that my hand will have pain and numbness just lifting my hand to take a drink.  😦  I push through it and ignore it and trade-off using my left hand but….how could I make this a full on business without having a surgery? (I would rather not)

I am really going to miss the ladies that I work with, they have grown to feel like family to me… my work family.  Don’t get me wrong.. we have had our moments, you know the ones that end up on the 5 o’clock news.. lol but like any family we fight, we laugh, we apologize we move on.  I will miss them all…each one is special to me in their own way.  I have been blessed to have that with almost every place that I have worked but this time is going to be especially hard for me to say good-bye.

I am excited though to be going on a new adventure in my career and am looking  forward to what God has in store for me.  I really feel like this is a God thing… I wasn’t looking to change…. didn’t seek out this position…. he brought it to me on a Saturday afternoon.

God has a funny way of taking us out of our comfort zones, he did it when he took me to Haiti and he is doing it again!!! I am not sure of what is coming next but I know he is guiding my steps and I will do my very best to hear that still small voice.

 

2 thoughts on “TURN! TURN! TURN!

  1. I just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for a ‘Liebster Award’ on my blog today, if you want to participate. I really like what you do with found ‘stuff’, turning it into beautiful, useful things. The rules, if there are any really, is that you accept the nomination, answer the questions and nominate some other bloggers, ask them some questions, etc. It’s really more of a way to connect and broaden the blogging community.

    Thanks for sharing with us!

    Thanks,

    Jenny

    • wow….THANKS for the nomination. I most certainly will. I am honored and humbled. I just enjoy finding the beauty in things that people would otherwise just put in the trash. 🙂 Thank you again. 🙂

I would love to hear your thoughts on this.....

