Grand Dressers and Headbord

Hello all,

It has been a while since I have posted but I did start a new job and am now working 5 days a week.  Whew……that is hard to do after only working 3 days a week for so long.  It eats into my crafting time… 😦 I did however find time to do these dressers for my two granddaughters.  I was on my way home from work and spotted these babies on the curb for big trash day… Yeah I know…me and curbs… lol.  Anyway…  free is free!! I called my daughter and asked if they needed a dresser and as it turns out they were indeed in need of a dresser.  Score… thank you Jesus.. 🙂photo (9)

They were in very good shape with the exception of 1 drawer.  There were ugly as all get out but I knew that I could make them feel pretty. 🙂

The girls love pink, so that is of course what my daughter requested they be painted.  I mixed some red with white paint and then added some plaster of paris to make it chalk paint and viola….pink chalk paint. Because one of the drawers were split and really unrepairable, I elected to make the top drawers into a shelf to hold, video games, DVD player and cable box.   photo (11) photo (7)

photo (8) photo (3) photo (2) photo (1)

 

I also had a bed in my spare room that I painted to coordinate so that they would have a whole room to Rock!  I had originally got them an Antique iron bed but my daughter is afraid that they will get their heads stuck in the openings of the headboard so I agreed to swap them out. ( I will post a picture of it later )

photo photo (6) photo (5) photo (4)

Even though pink is not what I would have wanted for these I think that they totally came out so stinkin cute.  I will be delivering them this weekend.  The bed is actually the same color as the dressers, but taken inside they look red… darn lighting.

I love the fact that I will be able to do a complete room makeover for almost free!  Instead of those dressers filling up the landfill, they will be filled with lots of little girls clothes and loved for many years.

One thought on “Grand Dressers and Headbord

I would love to hear your thoughts on this.....

