Breaking out of the color rut

This is another dresser that was found on the curb, destined for the dump.  I just feel the need to “save” all the discarded pieces of furniture.  I see what they can become….they almost always have a lot more life left in them, they just need someone to help them transition.   This one had a few minor problems.  It had a drawer that was broke and the top was in pretty bad shape.IMG_0442

 I decided to turn this into an entertainment center.  I built shelves in the top part to house the receiver and blue ray player.  I used some tongue and groove wood that I found in the scrap section of home depot to build the shelves.  I also flipped the top over and stainedd it a deep ebony.  IMG_0441 IMG_0440

 I decided to do this one in a bright cheery color.  I have mainly stuck with the e blues and whites up to this point.  I chose a buttercup yellow for this project and then distressed it and sealed it with an ebony stain.  I really like how this turned out.  I liked it so much that I kept it.  I had originally picked this up for a friend to have but it really was too big for her space.  So I gave her the one that I had made a few months back…. it too was found on the curb.  (I love curbs) 🙂 Ok enough chatting…. here is the pictures.  

 

 

IMG_0459 IMG_0461 IMG_0462




Photobucket

Craft Dictator
DIY Show Off
Elizabeth and Co.


Furniture Feature Fridays

9 thoughts on “Breaking out of the color rut

  1. Pingback: Broken Dresser Becomes a Colorful Entertainment Center

  2. Pingback: Link Party #124 at Redouxinteriors, Features and Fun | Redoux Interiors

I would love to hear your thoughts on this.....

